



MRF Rally de Bengal – Round 2, East Zone of the MRF FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship 2016 is set to kick off this Saturday

Kolkata, September 08, 2016 – Round 2, East of the MRF FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship (INTSDRC) 2016 – the MRF Rally de Bengal commenced with the pre-event press conference today at the Princeton Club. The championship consists of 8 rounds (2 in each zone) in different parts of the country (schedule given in page 3). Top 7 teams from each zone will qualify for the National Finals to be held on completion of all zonal rounds.

The MRF Rally de Bengal organized by Ramakrishna Race Performance Management Pvt. Ltd. (RRPM) will cover around 115 kms., which will include both dirt and tarmac roads in and around Durgapur on the 10th September. The rally route comprises of public/private roads which remain undisclosed to competitors till the beginning of the event.

Mr. Arindam Ghosh, Director, RRPM and Clerk of the Course said, "It is a dual role that we have taken up for this rally. While the Rally de Bengal has been a great success over the years, this time around, RRPM is also the promoter of the Championship. This puts an added pressure for putting up a signature event like previous years but with the team we have at RRPM, I am confident that we will succeed in doing so."

"As we are in the top seven after round 1 of the east zone, we are counting on this event big time to enter the national finals and will give it our best." said Somdeb Chanda, veteran TSD rally navigator and a participant in the MRF Rally de Bengal along with his wife, Debarati Chanda, who is the designated driver of their entry.

Sumantika Choudhury, a passionate rally enthusiast from Kolkata participating in the MRF Rally de Bengal said, "As a regular competitor, we always look forward to good rallies and from my past experiences, I can say that the MRF Rally de Bengal organized by RRPM is going to be a super challenging event."

Eminent TSD motorists like Saurav Chatterjee, Jogendra Jaiswal and others are participating in this event. The rally will follow the exciting trend of Secret Time Controls and Self Time Controls, a format introduced by RRPM which has been widely accepted and appreciated by all competitors for the last few years and is now a permanent feature in all rounds of the MRF FMSCI INTSDRC. Starting at 7:30 am from CCD on NH 2, the rally is expected to finish by 1:00 pm and the Podium Ceremony and Champagne Shower will be held at 4:00 pm in Hotel Rik in Domra.

Secret Time Controls help in monitoring the cars during the rally. Times are noted of each car as they traverse through the given route and in the Self Time Controls, teams have to note their timings themselves. This does not allow any car to maintain a relatively high speed for a long duration and hence makes the rally safer.

The concept of 0 & 00 cars was also brought to Eastern India by RRPM. The 00 car travels through the route about 15 minutes before the rally to check the track and the 0 car generally traverses through the rally route just before the rally begins and follows all the instructions like a participating team.





MRF Rally de Bengal, which is Round 2, East of the MRF FMSCI INTSDRC is also the 4th event of the championship and the deciding round to choose qualifiers for the National Finals from the East Zone. Top seven teams after Round 1 - East are Jogendra Jaiswal & Prasenjit Roy, Shekhar Choudhury & Suvrajit Dutta, Biswanath Kundu & Sabatullah Khan, Subhodev Chatterjee & Gairick Khan, Santanu Saha & Mrinmoy Saha, Debarati Chanda & Somdeb Chanda, and Saurav Chatterjee & Souradeep Dutta.

Qualifying teams from the already concluded North Zone include Rajendra Singh Shekhawat & Arjun, Rishi Kapoor & Yogesh Bansal, Laxman De & Punyabrata Barma, Aman Gulfam & Rahul Mukherjee, Deepshikha Bhaduri & Natarajan, and Sukhdeep Singh & Akash Gill.

The prizes for the different categories are as follows:

Position	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th	5 th
INTSDRC	Rs 25,000/- +	Rs 15,000/- +	Rs 10,000/- +	Trophies	Trophies
	Trophies	Trophies	Trophies		
Open	Rs 20,000/- +	Rs 10,000/- +	Rs 5,000/- +	Trophies	Trophies
	Trophies	Trophies	Trophies		

The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI), the governing body for all motorsport events in India has given the rights to promote the Indian National Rally Championship (INRC), Indian Rally Championship (IRC) and Indian National TSD Rally Championship (INTSDRC) to Ramakrishna Race Performance Management Pvt. Ltd. (RRPM), which has roped in marquee companies like MRF Tyres, Mahindra Adventure, Polaris and Pincon as key sponsors for the Indian rally season.

TSD – Time Speed Distance FMSCI – Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India INTSDRC – Indian National TSD Rally Championship

About TSD Rally:

TSD rallying (Time Speed Distance) is a form of motorsport usually conducted on public roads as well as off-road and dirt sections. The objective of these rallies is to maintain precise times and precise average speeds on various segments of a predefined route. Each team usually consists of a driver and navigator. Teams usually start a TSD rally at fixed intervals of a minute or two.

At the time of flag off, each team is given a route schedule (tulip/road book) which guides the navigator with the route and average speed to be maintained. Along the route there are several TCs (Time Controls), the positions of which are unknown to the teams. The marshals note the timing at which each team arrives at the TCs. The difference between a team's actual times and the ideal times determine their penalties. (Lateness and earliness both attract penalties with earliness attracting more penalty than lateness). The team with the lowest number of penalties wins.

Teams use several instruments like different types of Odometers, Terratrip, Monit, Brantz etc., extra speedometers, GPS and rally computers for precision in their time and speed.





About RRPM:

Ramakrishna Race Performance Management Pvt. Ltd. (RRPM) is a company formed with the sole intention of promoting "Professional Motorsports" in India and provides all kinds of technical assistance and information required to be at par with the National Level.

RRPM was started in 2003 by Mr. Arindam Ghosh, an icon in his own rights with rallying and organizational experience of over 40 years. RRPM is proud to be a part of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India, which is the apex body of India.

The schedule of the MRF FMSCI INTSDRC (Indian National Time Speed Distance Rally Championship) 2016 is as follows –

DATE	LOCATION			
NORTH				
13 th August 2016	Jaipur			
14 th August 2016	Jaipur			
EAST				
21 st August 2016	Haldia			
10 th September 2016	Durgapur			
SOUTH				
25 th September 2016	Hubli			
02 nd October 2016	Bengaluru			
WEST				
13 th November 2016	Nashik			
20 th November 2016	Goa			

Please do visit - www.RRPM.co

For more information contact: Yatharth Goel Adfactors PR Mobile - +91 98317 12340 yatharth.goel@adfactorspr.com